DREAM - Fees and scholarships

Tuition fees

  • For Partner country students: €18,000 for 2 years
  • For Programme country students : €9,000 for 2 years
  • Tuition fees are waived for Erasmus+ EMJM scholarship-holders from all countries

Applicants may apply for additional funds for students from regions of Partner Countries financed by the following EU external funding instruments:
  • Neighbourhood, Development and International Cooperation Instrument (NDICI)
  • Instrument for Pre-accession Assistance (IPA)

The fees do not cover copies, books, accommodation and meals. However, in each institution, students will have access to the university facilities (catering, library, computer laboratories). Students are liable for the payment of any fees related to national regulations (such as insurance).

Am I a programme country student or a partner country student?
  • "Programme countries" include students whose nationality is one of the 27 Member States of the European Union, and additionally, Iceland, Norway, Republic of North Macedonia, Liechtenstein, Turkey, Serbia.
  • "Partner countries NDICI" include students whose nationality is one of these countries:
    • Asia and the Pacific:
      • Pacific: Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu
      • Asia: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, China, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Laos, Macao, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam
      • Middle East: Bahrain, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Yemen
      • Central Asia: Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan
    • Americas and the Caribbean:
      • Latin America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela
      • Caribbean: Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent & Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad & Tobago
      • USA & Canada: Not eligible
    • Sub Saharan Africa:
      • Western Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Chad, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea Conakry, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo
      • Eastern Africa: Burundi, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda
      • Central Africa: Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Sao Tome & Principe
      • South Africa – Indian Ocean: Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe
    • Neighbourhood regions:
      • Eastern Neighbourhood: Not eligible (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine)
      • Southern Neighbourhood: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia
      • Russia: Not eligible
  • "Partner countries IPA" include students whose nationality is one of these countries:
    • Western Balkans: Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro
  • "Partner countries" include all other countries

Students who have the nationality of one of the Erasmus+ Partner Countries and who are resident or have carried out their main activity (studies, training or work) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in a Programme Country can be considered Programme Country students (upon presentation of official documents). The five year reference period for this 12 month rule is calculated backwards from the submission deadline.

Erasmus+ EMJM scholarships

Who is eligible?

Students from all over the world are eligible for an Erasmus+ Erasmus Mundus Joint Master (EMJM) scholarship.

What is included in the Erasmus+ EMJM scholarship?

The scholarship will be a contribution to the costs incurred by the beneficiary students and shall cover travel, visa, installation and subsistence costs.
It is calculated on the basis of a monthly unit cost of €1400/month for the entire period of the programme (24 months). This period covers study, research, placement activities, thesis preparation and defence, in line with the requirement of the joint Master.
Additionally, students selected as EMJM scholarship-holders will not be required to pay the tuition fees mentioned above.

Principles and regulations

  • The student candidate / scholarship holder declares not to have already benefited from an EMJM scholarship during the 2021-2027 period.
  • The student candidate / scholarship holder commits not to benefit from another EU funded scholarship scheme to follow the same EMJM course for the entire period of the course.
  • The financial support shall be repaid by the scholarship holder in case of fraud or false declaration.

Number of scholarships available

The number of scholarships available each year varies from an edition to another. Find below the expected annual distribution. Please note that this distribution can be reviewed every year by the admission board.
 Edition 1 (2022-2024) Edition 2 (2023-2025) Edition 3 (2024-2026) Edition 4 (2025-2027)
Number of scholarships 12 22 24 26

Consortium scholarship

A Consortium scholarship shall be awarded by the consortium to students who did not obtain an Erasmus+ EMJM  scholarship, but whose quality of application stood out. This scholarship will consist in a reduction from the total tuition fees.
Total tuition fees Amount of scholarship awarded*
 Programme country  €9,000   €4,000 / €2,000
 Partner country  €18,000  €7,000 / €3,500

* 4 scholarships of each amount are available for the best ranked students.
Published on December 9, 2021 Updated on October 10, 2023